+7 /495/ 641 04 26facebook

global energy 2018 5The names of the Global Energy Prize laureates were announced during the official press conference in Moscow on June 6. In 2018, the prestigious award goes to scientists from Russia and Australia. Russian academician Sergey Alekseenko will be awarded for developments in the field of heat power engineering  while Professor Martin Green will be recognized for technologies in photovoltaics.

The solemn Award Ceremony will be held in October within the framework of the Russian Energy Week International Forum. The laureates of 2018 will receive golden medals, diplomas, honorary lapel badges and will share RUB 39 000 000 (approximately $ 650 000).

The laureates of 2018 were determined on June 5, 2018 at the Global Energy Prize International Award Committee meeting but the information remained a secret until the last moment. The Global Energy Prize International Award Committee consists of 20 experts from 13 countries. Famous British scientist, the Nobel Prize winner Rodney John Allam, chairs it. During the official press conference, he summed up the results of the XVI nomination cycle and noted that 44 scientists from 14 countries competed for the award. Talking about main areas researchers` focus, he emphasized that the largest number of nominations referred to the renewable energy sector (34,09%); while exploration, production, transportation and processing of energy resources hold the second place (15.91%). Nuclear power industry (13.64%) closed the top three most popular fields. Traditionally, the geography of the contest is impressive: scientists from Europe, North America, Asia and Oceania competed for the victory. Whereby, the majority of nominees (56%) are representatives of European countries.

Adding details about the prize, the Global Energy Prize International Award Committee member, the Director-General of the International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA) Adnan Amin stressed the contribution of the Global Energy Prize to the creation of the sustainable future for the benefit of all humanity and the commitment of Russia to use its energy potential in the field of RES.

Rae Kwon Chung (Korea), member of the Global Energy Prize International Award Committee, Adviser to the Chair of UN Secretary-General`s High-level Expert and Leaders Panel (HELP) on water and disasters, spoke about the importance of scientific cooperation that has no borders. It was he who brought the happy news to new laureates via the phone call, which was broadcast to the whole audience.

The first scientist who found out about his victory was RAS academician Sergey Alekseenko (Russia), an expert in thermophysics, energy and energy saving. The prize is awarded to him for the development of thermophysical foundations of the modern power and energy saving equipment creation, which allow developing ecologically safe thermal power plants (through modeling of combustion of gas, coal and liquid fuel). They are also used in the development of the new types of burners, methods for thermal processing of solid domestic waste to generate thermal energy, as well as modeling of natural gas liquefaction processes, development of thermal and hydraulic safety standards for nuclear power plants, etc. Besides that Sergey Alekseenko is the initiator of the wide application of petrothermal energy (Earth’s internal heat). The scientist is convinced that this energy will ensure the energy needs of humanity forever.

For the second year in a row, the experts of the Global Energy Prize International Award Committee recognize solar technologies. Martin Green (Australia) will be awarded the Global Energy Prize for research, developments and educational activities in the field of photovoltaics. The sales of the systems containing the PERC solar cells invented by Martin Green exceeded $4 billion by the end of 2016. According to Bloomberg New Energy Finance predictions, the total sales of solar cells using his technology will exceed 1 trillion USD by 2040. PERC elements are already becoming the commercial standard all over the world. According to forecasts, they will save at least 750 million dollars in power production costs over the next decade in Australia alone.

The importance of such practical application of technologies and the applied role of laureates` developments was emphasized by Oleg Budargin, Vice-Chairman of the World Energy Council, member of the Board of Trustees of the Global Energy Association. He also spoke about a new technological cycle in the energy sector, in which the role of science, the Global Energy Prize laureates and young scientists is crucial. “Science and scientists today are at the forefront of entering the new technological cycle. This cycle poses an important task - improving the quality of life of mankind. Moreover, it is science that is called upon to become a locomotive for new education and new productions” -the expert shared.

As a recall, the solemn Global Energy Prize Award Ceremony will be held within the framework of the Russian Energy Week International Forum. President or a person on his behalf will award the prize.

Based on globalenergyprize.org


logo eng 5

EB logo

E SDG logo with UN Emblem square rgb